A year to remember!

The Sailing Club’s annual Prize Giving Ceremony was held on Saturday 29th October. The clubhouse filled well before the scheduled 7.30pm start and the evening began with the traditional slideshow containing the highlights of the previous sailing season. This year it also included footage of the National Championships and clips of Dinghy capsizes throughout the season caught on video.

The Commodore opened the ceremony with the now customary pirate joke and quickly moved on to the prize giving itself.

In the Laser Fleet Brian Aldgate was presented with the Woodpecker Cup (Monday Series), Claire Edkins won the Penzance 420 Cup (1st Combined Series) and the overall Laser (Laser Shield). A huge cheer erupted for Paul Kavanagh a very popular first time winner of the Weekend Series – receiving the Kittiwake Cup.

Mirror sailor Eric Taylor added to his long list of awards, winning the Monday, Thursday, Combined, Saturday Series, Burt’s  Trophy and the overall Mirror (Lemon Hart Trophy). Eric has continued his tradition this year – training young crews to be the next generation of sailors. This year his winning crews were Lloyd Williams, Jenna Dyer, Aidan and Aoife Mooney. Eric was also awarded the Ancient Mariner Trophy (aged over 50 from any fleet)

Amongst the Cruisers there were also some multiple winners. In the NHC Fleet, Laid Back won The Emerson Cup (1st Evening 1) and the Evening Overall Series (Andy’s Trophy), the Penzance Cup (1st Middle Distance), the Tolcarne Cup (1st Tolcarne Race) and Bewitched won the Cole Cup (1st Evening 2).

In the IRC Fleet, Bewitched won the Daruma Cup (1st Evening 1). Riff Raff won the Direct Textiles Cup (1st Evening 2) and the Overall Evening Trophy (Poynton, Bradbury, Wynter Cup). In the dinghy Handicap Fleet, Jeremy Gilbert (RS200) won the Monday and Thursday Series receiving the Solidworks and Driveworks Trophies. James Sadler in his RS600 winning the Weekend Trophy.

In the Enterprise Fleet, Colin Stephens won the Monday Series, Thomas Kliskey the Even Keel Cup and Frank James Trophy (1st Thursday and Combined Series). Simon Lees won the Janet Lorraine Cup (1st Monday Series),

Martyn Curnow won the Wright Cup (1st Weekend Series) and the St Justin Enterprise Trophy (1st overall Enterprise winner). For the cruisers, Bewitched was first in the Pursuit and Afternoon Series being awarded with the Penzance Shield and Cruiser Fleet Shield. The Middle Distance award was presented to Laid Back. In the Offshore Series, Disting won the Chalice Trophy (Runnelstone Race). Inn Spirit won the Swordfish Cup (St Ives to Penzance Race), Sloop Cup (Penzance to St Ives Race), Camilla House Trophy (Mullion Race), the Master Mariner Trophy (Helford Race), the Arthur Kirby Trophy (Overall Coast to Coast) and the Dunstan Cup (Overall Offshore).

In the special awards for the Cruisers Silver Wind won the Tolcarne Cup and Laid Back, The Logan Rock Trophy

Laid Back was also awarded the Cornish Mead Trophy (Champion Cruiser).

The presentation then moved onto the Club awards:

This year 51 series Races were sailed over the summer (losing 13 to weather), Other events held included three Midbays, 2 Non-Series Races, 2 Special Races, 1 Open Meeting and 3 weekend beach sails, making 62 outings altogether – not to mention the highly successful Merlin Rocket National Championships. The Andy Schulof Trophy (Junior Student of the Year) was awarded to Roisin Mooney and the Andy Schulof Trophy (Adult Student of the Year) to Sarah Van Horn. The Franklyn Pool Cadet Cup (Leading Under 18 Helm in Series Races) was presented to Sebi Schmidt and the Rudder Trophy for the most improved helm junior Lloyd Williams.

A special gold Mirror was presented to Peter Menear who singlehandedly sails his Mirror and Wayfairer throughout the season – and turned 80 years young this year. There were a variety of awards for those who have given their time throughout the year. The Rescue Boat Award (Bean Can Trophy) was presented to Martyn Curnow who also acted as OOD from the rescue boat on occasion.

Brian Aldgate received a special award in recognition of his nine OOD duties and rescue duties as did Jeremy Boase for his many hours spent as bosun of Course Layer and David Williams for his additional rescue duties this season Officer of the Day Award was justly presented with another huge cheer to Adrian Symons for his thirteen OOD duties.

The Commodore Dean Mooney himself was presented with the esteemed Quackers Trophy for the most races sailed in any boat this year. The Diana Ladies Challenge Cup for the lady helm or crew, sailing the most races in a dinghy was presented to Di Stephens.

For their services to the galley and bar – a special presentation was made to Teresa and Dave Barker. There were additional club trophies – provided with good humour – “Most Spectacular Capsize” being awarded unsurprisingly to James Sadler in his RS600 and the “Golden Pump” award to the Entire Enterprise Fleet!

Each year, the final two prestigious awards are decided and presented by the Commodore, with a brief speech outlining his decision: The “Penzance Youth Award for Under 18 Services to the Club” was awarded to a junior, Kian Andrews, as the Commodore announced for his success outside the club but, at the same time, bringing recognition to his home base. Kian has represented Penzance Sailing Club at numerous events including being the first youth at the 2016 Laser Championships. In fact with his 4th and 5th places in the final day, he only just missed out on a top ten place overall. He also achieved first position in the St Ives Regatta. The “Frel Trophy for Services to the Club” was awarded to Brian Aldgate for his multiple rescue and OOD duties and his organisation of the Merlin Rocket National Championships at the club in August. Many months of unseen hard work culminated in a very successful week when Brian would be among the first to arrive at the club and the last to leave. All his work was done with his customary beaming smile and never to be repeated pirate jokes. All prize winners were also awarded with beautiful engraved glasses courtesy of St Justin. The evening ended with a brief speech regarding the successful and enjoyable 2016 sailing season and emphasizing that members can now look forward to the 2017 season with eager anticipation!



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

54 + = 62